Pro 200’s previous allowance: what happens after October 29
OpenAI says eligible existing Pro 200 subscribers retain their previous allowance through October 29 while active. The exact changeover time and reduction are not specified.
On this pageCollapse
OpenAI’s Pro tier guidance says eligible existing Pro 200 subscribers may retain their previous included allowance through October 29, 2026, while their subscription is active. After that date, they move to the lower included allowance; the price remains $200 per month.
Who qualifies
The transition applies to an account that had an active Pro 200 subscription at any point from September 22 through 10:00 a.m. Pacific Time on September 29, 2026. OpenAI says the same account can qualify after resubscribing if it met that earlier condition and its Pro 200 subscription is active. A new subscriber who does not qualify receives the updated allowance.
The official wording gives October 29 as a date, but does not specify an exact hour or time zone for the later changeover, or quantify the reduction. Do not treat midnight in a particular zone or a percentage reported by another user as an official guarantee. OpenAI says it will email affected users with further details.
Check your own account
Review your plan, the affected-user email if you receive one, and Settings → Usage. Work and Codex share included usage; consumption varies with the model, task and settings. A temporary reset refreshes eligible usage and does not permanently restore the former plan allowance. See the usage guide for how to compare windows.
Separately, eligible subscribers can claim API credits, but that benefit does not increase signed-in Codex limits and cannot be used for Codex via an API key.
